It's Been a Year

03/18/2013 12:36

Tomorrow is my one year anniversary with my girlfriend. Erica and I met through a mutual friend  Krista  and to be honest with you I think everyone is surprised that we have made it a year. We are completely opposite. She loves to party and stay out all night, and I enjoy a nice dinner in and a movie. Erica is a social butterfly and I on the other hand am content with the small group of friends that I have. We are good for each other though. She gets me out of the house more than I am used to and I get her to stay in and have a nice quiet now. It is actually a good balance. When I first met her I will have to admit that I was not attracted to her. I mean I thought she was cute, but she is not the typical girl that I go for. After our first date when my friend asked me if he thought we would see each other again I said probably not. She however was really insistent on seeing me again. I am glad that she was because honestly she is the love of my life and I would be lost with out her. When I am having a bad day she knows just how to cheer me up.

Our relationship is different from all the other relationships I have been in. Most of my other relationships consisted of fighting over silly little things. Erica and I hardly ever fight. I want to take her to the restaurant that we had our very first date at for our anniversary. It is a small little Middle Eastern restaurant. After that I have arranged for us to stay downtown for the entire weekend at a very nice hotel. I set it up so that there would be rose pedals all over the room when we walk in. Then I set up a couples massage and horse drawn carriage ride around the city. I am not usually good at planning romantic outings but with her it comes easy.

I can honestly say that I see myself marrying Erica. I know we have only been together a year, but what a wonderful year it has been.  I think all my planning is going to surprise Erica. She usually tells me I am lame and doesn’t think I am planning anything. I am pretty low key most of the time, but it is important for me to show her how much I really do love her.

Back